Off to join the Sailing Ship TENACIOUS…

I’m off tomorrow to join the Jubilee Sailing Trust‘s sail training ship, TENACIOUS, in Valencia, on the Mediterranean coast of Spain.  You can follow my progress on the blog here.

The Jubilee Sailing Trust is a really wonderful charity that ‘promotes the integration of people of all physical abilities through the medium of tall ship sailing’.  I’ve admired their work for many years and I’m really looking forward to seeing it at first hand.

I’ve been invited to demonstrate the art of celestial navigation to the volunteer crew as she sails first to Portimão, in southern Portugal, and then on to Ponta Delgada, in the Azores – 800 nautical miles out into the Atlantic.

It’ll be the first time I’ve visited Ponta Delgada since I sailed there from Lymington, England, in my own Contessa 32, Alcyone, back in 1981.  I expect I’ll find a few changes!

One thought on “Off to join the Sailing Ship TENACIOUS…

Leave a Reply

